Phoenix Ninety-Nines Chapter Scholarship

Helping to promote women in aviation and support them in reaching their aviation goals.

Each year, the Phoenix Chapter of the Ninety-Nines offers up to two $2,000 scholarships to women in Arizona. The scholarships are to be used by the recipient(s) to assist in obtaining a private pilot certificate, sport pilot certificate or for an advanced rating or training to further their pursuit in aviation. Applications must be submitted by ​ June 15th of each respective year. Scholarship winners will be announced ​on or before September 15th of the respective year.

Private Pilot or Light Sport Pilot Certificate Scholarship:

  • $500 upon completion of written exam
  • $500 following successful solo
  • $500 upon completion of long cross country (if required). If not, $500 will be paid upon completion of the flight hours required to complete the training.
  • $500 upon completion of successful checkride

Advanced rating or training:

  • $500 upon completion of written exam (if required). If not, $500 will be paid upon completion of the flight hours required to complete the training.
  • $1,000 upon completion of the flight hours required to complete the training.
  •  $500 upon completion of successful checkride or course completion.

Applicant Criteria

  • Female U.S. citizen and resident of the state of Arizona
  • At least 17 years of age
  • Proficient in English

Award Criteria

Applications will be ​evaluated by three judges, who are qualified pilots but ​not members of the Phoenix Chapter. The judges will consider applicants based on the following criteria:

  • Applicant’s commitment to aviation
  •  Strength of the Personal Essay
  • Ability to achieve goals
  • Applicants current or planned involvement in the aviation community and the Ninety-Nines
  • Recommendation letters
  • Other scholarships previously received to fund aviation training

Application Instructions

​Please scan and submit a single PDF that includes completed application and all required documents ​to the Phoenix Ninety-Nines Scholarship Committee Chair, [email protected]. Applications must be received by the June 15th deadline of each year.

Scholarship Application Form

To apply for the Phoenix Chapter Scholarship Program, please download the instructions/checklist and application using the buttons below.



Scholarship Terms

  • The $2,000 scholarship will be disbursed in increments and the applicant will have to initially pay for the training. The scholarship is designed to reimburse part of the training costs. Each ​scholarship will be paid ​​to the​ applicant/winner upon receipt of sufficient proof of ​completion, such as: copies of written test results, copies of logbook entries signed by certified flight instructor, new certificate, or ​receipts for fuel/aircraft rental for hours flown.
  • Recipients who successfully complete their training will receive a one-year membership in the Phoenix Chapter of the Ninety-Nines.
  • Any unused monies will revert back to the Phoenix Chapter of the Ninety-Nines Scholarship Fund.
  • Recipient(s) agree to complete certificate or training course within one year. The one-year time frame begins September 15th of the year the scholarship was awarded.

If you have any questions or require help, please contact the Scholarship Chair at: [email protected].

Click Here for Application Tips


Courtney Smith used her chapter scholarship for emergency maneuver training.

Ninety-Nines Fly NOW Award

The Fly Now Awards are scholarships of up to $6,000 offered to Student Pilot Members of the 99s based on completion of specific training milestones.

Eligibility: To be eligible, applicants must hold a student pilot certificate, have been an official Student Pilot Member ​three months prior to the application deadline and show financial need.

Offered by the Ninety-Nines twice annually, with approximately twenty scholarships awarded each cycle.

Deadlines to apply: ​April 1st and ​October 1st each year

Emily Spratte won a Fly NOW Award & earned her Private Pilot Certificate.

Amelia Earhart Memorial Scholarship Foundation Award

Amelia Earhart Memorial Scholarships are for licensed pilot members to advance in training and education in aviation and aerospace, and will pay for:

  • One full additional pilot certificate or rating
  • Jet type rating
  • Up to $10,000 renewable academic scholarship
  • One full technical training or certification course
  • Emergency Maneuver Training, in memory of Vicki Cruse
  • International Scholarship for pilots in developing countries, in memory of Kitty Houghton.

Eligibility: Applicant must be a member of The Ninety-Nines, Inc. continuously ​for one full year as of January 1st. Note: There is no length of membership requirement for Vicki Cruse or Kitty Houghton Scholarships. There are chapter quotas for applications. For a complete list of criteria and instructions on applying, please visit the website listed below.

Offered by the Ninety-Nines once per year, with approximately twenty scholarships awarded.

Deadline to apply: ​January 1st of each year

Samantha Resop won an AE Scholarship to earn her Instrument Rating.

Additional Flight Training Scholarships:

Phoenix Chapter Scholarship Archives

Phoenix Chapter Scholarship Winners:

​2018 — Anne Muirhead, Felecia Zahn

2017 — Sherlyn Halloran, Courtney Smith

2016 — Diana LeSueur, Sara Mazzarella

2015 — Emily Johnson

2014 — Kayla Waskowski, Leah Thomas

2013 — Diana LeSueur

2012 — Theresa Farley, Sherlyn Halloran

Amelia Earhart Memorial Scholarship Fund Winners from Phoenix Chapter:

2019 — Stephanie Frazier (Instrument), Felecia Zahn (Multi-Engine add-on)

2018 — Magdalena Jarda (Multi-Engine add-on), Tessie Quintana (Instrument), Samantha Sizemore (Instrument), Keely Costello (Vicki Cruse Emergency Maneuver Training)

2017 — Emily Johnson (Multi-Engine add-on), Sara Mazzarella (Instrument)

2016 — Emily Johnson (Instrument)

2015 — Diana LeSueur (Instrument), Jeanne Rieck (Multi-Engine add-on), Courtney Smith (Multi-Engine add-on)

2013 — Sherlyn Halloran (Multi-Engine Instructor and CFI renewal), Theresa Farley (Instrument)

2012 — Gabrielle Palmas (Instrument)

2010 — Marina Saettone (Utility Vertical Reference Course-Helicopter)


AEMSF Fly NOW Winners from Phoenix Chapter:

2019 — Summer Martin

2018 — Isabella Del Principe, Emily Spratte

2017 — Lauren Bills, Stephanie Frazier, Amber MacKenzie, Klara Olcott

2016 — Isabella Diep, Magdalena Jarda, Claudia Marquez, Sara Mazzarella

2014 — Audree Davis, Emily Johnson

2013 — Diana LeSueur

2008 — Mallory Schreck